WHAT ARE “TAVERN GAMES?” TAVERN GAMING FAQS

Three types of games of chance are considered “tavern games.” They are:
* Pull-tab games
 Daily drawings
» Tavern raffles — must be, in part, for a charitable or public purpose

No tavern game may have any single prize higher than $2,000. No more than $35,000 may be awarded through
tavern games in any consecutive seven-day period.

No more than one tavern raffle may be held a month.

WHO CAN APPLY FOR A TAVERN GAMING LICENSE FROM THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR
CONTROL BOARD (PLCB)?

Applicants for a Tavern Gaming License must hold an active and current:
* Restaurant liquor license (this includes specialized licenses, such as PAF, PGR, AR, etc.)
» Hotel liquor license
 Privately-owned public golf course liquor license
* Brewery pub license

However, the following CANNOT apply for a Tavern Gaming License:
« Eating Place Retail Dispenser Licenses (“E” license type)
* Club and Catering Club Licenses (“C”, “CC” and “O” license types)
» Grocery Stores (Most hold an “R” license type)
» Casinos (Most hold an “R” license type)
* Venues that hold professional sporting events
 Limited winery (“LK”) and Limited Distillery (“AL”) licensees
* Any licensee that operates in a municipality that has not approved Small Games of Chance
» Locations that have been declared to be “nuisances” under Section 611 of the Liquor Code
* Licensees whose liquor license is in “safekeeping”
» Licensees whose liquor license locations have been objected to by the PLCB Bureau of Licensing
* Individuals who have been convicted of a felony offense or a misdemeanor gambling offense in
any jurisdiction within the last 15 years
» Locations that sell liquid fuels

HOW DO I GET A TAVERN GAMING LICENSE?

You must send a completed application packet and criminal history summary issued by the FBI to the PLCB,
Bureau of Licensing, which will process the application. The application can be found on the PLCB website,
www.lcb.state.pa.us, starting on Jan. 27, 2014.

Once the application packet, required documents and fees are received, the Gaming Control Board will conduct
a thorough background investigation on the licensee and all officers of the establishment.

HOW MUCH DOES APPLYING FOR A TAVERN GAMING LICENSE COST?

To apply, individuals must submit $2,000 to the PLCB along with a completed application packet. From that,
the PLCB will then distribute the initial $1,000 investigation fee to the Gaming Control Board.

If the cost of conducting the background investigation increases, the applicant must pay those additional costs.
If an applicant is approved, the licensee must pay an additional $500 fee.

There is an annual renewal fee of $1,000 per license.
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TAVERN GAMING FAQS

WHAT HAPPENS TO MY MONEY IF MY TAVERN GAMING LICENSE IS NOT APPROVED
OR IF I WITHDRAW THE APPLICATION?

The application fee and background check fees are non-refundable.

WHERE DO THE FEES ASSOCIATED WITH A TAVERN GAMING LICENSE AND THE TAVERN
GAMING TAXES GO?

To cover administrative costs, the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board will retain the $1,000 licensing fee.
The Gaming Control Board receives a minimum of $1,000 to pay for the background investigation. A $500
licensing fee, paid once the license has been approved, goes directly into Pennsylvania’s General Fund.

State tavern gaming tax is deposited into General Fund; the host municipality tax is deposited into a restricted
account and transferred to the municipality in which the tavern is located.

WHAT DOES THE BACKGROUND CHECK ENTAIL?

The Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board will conduct a thorough investigation, including a criminal background
check and a credit check, of the applicant, officers and managers.

WHO APPROVES THE LICENSE?

The Gaming Control Board will submit a report detailing the suitability of the applicant to the PLCB, which will
approve or deny the license.

DO I HAVE TO RENEW A TAVERN GAMING LICENSE?

A Tavern Gaming License is valid for one year, and it must be renewed annually. There is an annual renewal fee

of $1,000 per license.

IS A TAVERN GAMING LICENSE TRANSFERABLE SHOULD I WANT TO SELL IT?

No. A Tavern Gaming License is non-transferrable.

If a business changes hands, the new owners must apply for a Tavern Gaming License in the same way as the
original licensee. If there is a change in ownership of the business or premises, the PLCB must be notified.

Additionally, no security interests —i.e., liens — may be placed on a Tavern Gaming License.
I'M A DISTRIBUTOR/MANUFACTURER OF PULL-TABS. WHAT MUSTI DO TO GET
MY GAMES INTO TAVERNS?

To distribute pull-tabs to club licensees, eligible organizations or taverns, small games of chance distributors must
be licensed and manufacturers must be registered with the Department of Revenue. Visit www.revenue.state.pa.us/
sgoc and complete form REV-1753, Application for Small Games of Chance, Licensing of Distributors and
Registration of Manufacturers.

I'M A TAVERN OWNER LOOKING TO OFFER PULL-TABS. HOW DO I FIND A DISTRIBUTOR?

Licensed distributors are listed on the Department of Revenue’s small games of chance website,
www.revenue.state.pa.us/sgoc.
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