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Since the inception of vendor in-store tastings in March 2003, the number of
in-store tastings has grown exponentially. To more efficiently handle the
scheduling of tastings in Fine Wine & Good Spirits stores and improve our
vendor partners’ experience with the process, the PLCB has developed an
automated, web-based tasting calendar called the Tastings Scheduler. The
scheduler provides users with a more hands-on method of entering tastings,
which are then displayed on the public tasting calendar. Vendors can now
enter events in real time, reducing conflicts and streamlining the process.

We are very proud of how our in-store tasting program has grown and look
forward to its continued success as vendors present new and exciting
products and programs to our customers.

Tastings Scheduler

Vendors interested in conducting tastings in any Fine Wine & Good Spirits
store must register on the Tastings Scheduler application.

e The PLCB must have a certificate of liability insurance on file from each
interested party, including but not limited to the vendor of record,
tasting scheduling company, winery or distillery, etc. Each interested
party must document, at minimum, current general liability limits of
$1million per occurrence and $2 million per occurrence annual
aggregate. In addition to these general liability limits, each interested
party must document, at minimum, current liquor liability coverage in


https://www.apps.lcb.pa.gov/tastingscheduler/

the amount of $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate. The
PLCB must be named as an additional insured on all certificates of
liability insurance.

o By way of example, if Brand X is being scheduled for an in-store
tasting to be conducted by an event company on behalf of a
vendor of record, then separate certificates of liability insurance
demonstrating the above-noted minimum insurance
requirements must be submitted for the manufacturer, the
vendor of record (if not the manufacturer), and the event
company performing the tasting.

o No tastings will be scheduled until all required certificates of
liability insurance are received.

o Certificate Holder and Additional Insured:
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board
910 Capital Street, NWOB
Harrisburg, PA17124
Attn: Tasting Scheduler Administrator, Room 204

A hard copy of the certificate of liability insurance must be submitted
by mail to the address above.

Vendors must also sign and submit a Pennsylvania Liquor Control
Board Indemnity Against Liability form.

Vendors are required to fully comply with PLCB requlations relating to
in-store tasting events. Click here to view Title 40: Liquor - Subchapter
D: Tasting.

The Vendor Code of Conduct remains effective and must be followed
by all vendors and their agents while conducting events within Fine
Wine & Good Spirits stores. Click here to view the Vendor Code of
Conduct.

Vendors conducting tastings in Fine Wine & Good Spirits stores are
required to comply with a Vendor Dress Code. Click here for full details
of the Vendor Dress Code. Failure to comply with the established dress
code could result in suspension of tasting privileges.

All questions or comments regarding in-store tastings or the Tastings
Scheduler should be emailed to RA-LBTastingCalendar@pa.gov.
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FAQs

Who may conduct an in-store tasting event?

Sponsors —which include any licensed vendor, importer, manufacturer
and agents or employees of such who are 21 years of age or older — may
conduct in-store tasting events at the discretion of the Board.

May PLCB employees participate or assist the sponsor with the in-store tasting

event?

PLCB employees may give consumers general information regarding an
in-store tasting event, such as the time, date and name of the event
Sponsor.

PLCB employees may only actively participate in tastings conducted by
the agency.

PLCB employees will work with sponsors to accommodate their presence
in the store for an in-store tasting event.

Members of the Bureau of Retail Operations, Retail Planning &
Promotions Division, will work closely with sponsors to coordinate
tasting events that exceed the scope of a reqular in-store tasting. This
includes any celebrity, winemaker or brand ambassador appearances or
special programs that would require additional in-store set-up, staffing or
landlord approvals.

On-duty PLCB employees shall not consume alcoholic beverages.

What are the general rules of operation for an in-store tasting event?

Sponsors must obtain approval from the PLCB at least 60 days prior to the
date of the proposed event in order to conduct an in-store tasting event.
Prior to an in-store tasting event, sponsors or their agents are required to
demonstrate evidence of liability insurance as identified herein and sign
and submit a Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board Indemnity Against
Liability form.

Prior to an in-store tasting event, sponsors shall provide the PLCB with a
list of products to be offered for tasting to consumers.

No alcoholic beverages may be served to anyone visibly intoxicated or
under 21years of age.

Only one sponsor may conduct an in-store tasting event at a time unless
prior approval is granted by the PLCB.

Is there a maximum time limit for in-store tasting events?

The duration of an in-store tasting event is limited to a maximum of two

consecutive hours.



How are products acquired for use in an in-store tasting event?
e Wine or spirits used during the in-store tasting event must be:

o Procured by the sponsor in accordance with the sampling process
specified in PLCB regulations, specifically Section 13.81relating to
samples of liquor;

o Purchased fromthe PLCB; or

o Provided and transported by a sponsor from its own stock.

e Wine and spirits used during an in-store tasting event must be dispensed
from original containers prepared by the manufacturer with labels visible
to the consumer.

How many products may be available for sampling at any one in-store tasting

event?

e A maximum of four products per in-store tasting event may be made
available for tasting by consumers.

How much alcohol may be served to any one consumer at an in-store tasting

event?

e Inthe case of wine, one ounce may be served to any one consumer for
each product tasted. No consumer shall be furnished more than four
ounces of wine (i.e., up to four one-ounce pours).

e Inthe case of spirits, one-quarter ounce may be served to any one
consumer for each product tasted. No consumer shall be furnished more
than one ounce of spirits (i.e., up to four quarter-ounce pours).

Must a sponsor provide food in conjunction with an in-store tasting event?
e Yes, the sponsor must provide food, such as cheese and crackers, for
consumption by consumers during the in-store tasting event.

Is the sponsor responsible for providing supplies for an in-store tasting event?

e Yes, the sponsorisresponsible for providing all supplies and equipment
associated with an in-store tasting event. These supplied may include but
are not limited to the following: dump buckets, water glasses, tasting
containers and tables, all subject to PLCB approval.

How should sponsors dispose of unused portions of opened alcohol containers

and empty containers?

e Atthe conclusion of an in-store tasting event, sponsors must either
discard unused portions of opened alcohol containers at the wine and
spirits store, or reseal the partially-consumed liquor containers. The
resealed, partially-used containers may be placed in storage at the store
for use at a subsequent store tasting or may be removed from the




premises. No partially-consumed liquor containers may be placed in
storage at a store for more than 15 days. After 15 days, partially-used
containers of liquor may be discarded by the PLCB.

e Sponsors shall dispose of all empty alcohol containers in accordance with
Section 491(5) of the Liquor Code. [47 P.S. § 4-491(5)].

e Resealed partially-used containers may not be furnished to PLCB
employees or any other person.

All other state and federal laws and regulations governing liquor and wine
must be observed during in-store tasting events.



