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LICENSEE GUIDANCE REGARDING UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES 

 

Following is a list of unlawful activities as they apply to alcoholic beverage licensees. The list 

was prepared by the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (PLCB) at the request of and in 

cooperation with the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement (BLCE), 

to provide licensees with guidelines for operation within the law. The term “licensee” refers to 

the licensee, as well as the licensee’s servants, agents or employees. The term “liquor” refers to 

all forms of distilled spirits and wine products. 

 

This list does not reflect all possible violations. It is not intended to be nor may it be used as an 

official document or to supplant the law. Since the law is subject to periodic amendment and 

legal rulings, users of this information are advised to remain alert to any such changes. 

 

1. ACCEPTANCE OF UNLAWFULLY TRANSSHIPPED MALT OR BREWED 

BEVERAGES. It is unlawful for any distributor or importing distributor to accept 

delivery of any malt or brewed beverages sold or delivered in violation of geographical 

distribution rights conferred by a manufacturer upon an importing distributor. Any 

distributor, importing distributor or other licensee who accepts such unlawfully delivered 

malt or brewed beverages shall be subject to a license suspension of at least 30 days. 

Distributors and importing distributors are required to sign all territorial schedules of the 

importing distributors from whom they purchase. 

 

2. ADULTERATION. It is unlawful to adulterate, fortify, contaminate or in any way 

change the character or purity of liquor or malt or brewed beverages from that as 

originally marketed by the manufacturer at the place of manufacture. 

 

3. ADVERTISING – INTERIOR SIGNS.  

 Price advertising in windows is not limited to menus and wine lists.  

 It is unlawful for any retail liquor licensee or retail malt or brewed beverage 

licensee to display, or permit the display in the show window or doorways of the 

licensed premises, any placard or sign advertising the brands of liquor or malt or 

brewed beverages if the total display area of any such placard or sign advertising 

the product(s) exceeds 600 square inches.  

 Licensees may display signs inside the licensed premises, show windows and 

doorways that advertise brand names of products sold, provided the total cost of 

point-of-sale advertisements of any brand does not exceed $300 at any one time.  

 NOTE: Public venue licensees and certain licensees who also hold licenses issued 

by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board are exempt from the cost and size 

limits on point-of-sale advertising. 

 



4. ADVERTISING – UNLAWFUL ADVERTISING. Advertising, as discussed in this 

section, includes any advertising of alcoholic beverages through media such as radio 

broadcast; television broadcast; newspapers; periodicals or other publications; outdoor 

displays; the Internet or electronic channels including all forms of social media; printed 

materials including booklets, flyers, cards, etc.; and the product label or attachment itself. 

 Prices that are advertised or displayed on the licensed premises must be those that 

are in effect at the time of advertisement or display and may not refer to monetary 

comparison between brands or contain statements that are false, deceptive, 

misleading or disparaging of the products of a competitor.  

 Advertisements must clearly identify the entity responsible for the advertisement. 

 No licensee may distribute, or cause to be distributed, unsolicited advertisements 

– including price lists, circulars or handbills - about liquor or malt or brewed 

beverages, whether by mail or by handing out to members of the general public.  

 Advertisements in daily and weekly newspapers are permitted, as is advertising in 

community newspapers such as The Pennysaver.  

 Advertisements may not be directed at minors, and no print advertisement is 

permitted within 300 feet of any church, school or public playground. Following a 

2004 court decision, however, licensees are permitted to run alcohol advertising 

in college- or university-related newspapers. 

 An advertisement may not be obscene or inconsistent with the spirit of safety or 

safe-driving programs.  

 

5. ADVERTISING – STRENGTH OF BEER. It is unlawful to use the words “full 

strength,” “extra strength,” “high test,” “high proof,” etc., in any advertisement or label 

describing a malt or brewed beverage. However, it is permissible to reference alcoholic 

content by volume on the label of malt or brewed beverages. 

 

6. ADVERTISING – WITHOUT SUFFICIENT QUANTITY. It is unlawful to advertise 

liquor or malt or brewed beverages by trade name, unless there is a sufficient quantity on 

hand and for sale of that particular liquor or malt or brewed beverage to meet normal 

consumer demand. 

 

7. BEER SPIGOT – IDENTIFICATION. It is unlawful to furnish or serve any malt or 

brewed beverages from any faucet, spigot or other dispensing apparatus unless the trade 

name or brand of the product served appears in full sight of the customer and in legible 

lettering upon such faucet, spigot or dispensing apparatus. 

 

8. BONAFIDE HOTEL/RESTAURANT/EATING PLACE.  

 It is unlawful for any hotel, restaurant or eating place licensed establishment to 

remain in operation without continuously complying with the conditions under 

which it was originally licensed.  



 These licensed operations must be reputable places where food is regularly and 

customarily prepared and sold, with a permanent seating requirement of at least 

30 chairs at tables, including bar seats at the bar.  

 Each of these licensed operations must have a properly validated health certificate 

issued by the appropriate state agency or local municipality posted in a 

conspicuous place.  

 Licensees must have a sufficient supply of food and be properly equipped with 

adequate utensils and facilities for the service of food so as to demonstrate a 

legitimate food business.  

 Hotels must have a kitchen apart from the dining room(s) and provide guest 

rooms for sleeping accommodations as originally licensed, except that certain 

hotels licensed prior to Jan. 1, 1949, can apply to the PLCB to no longer maintain 

bedrooms for public accommodation.  

 

9. BRAND REGISTRATION. It is unlawful to sell, offer for sale or deliver any brand of 

malt or brewed beverages unless such brand has been registered by the manufacturer or 

franchised agent thereof with the PLCB.  

 If a beer manufacturer has failed to register a brand of beer, that brand may not be 

sold until it is registered. In such cases, the beer may be left on the licensed 

premises until the manufacturer registers the brand or the licensee holding the 

illegal beer can return it to the manufacturer and be fully reimbursed.  

 The PLCB’s Malt Beverage Compliance Officer (MBCO) is responsible to 

investigate reports of unregistered brands of beer. The MBCO will give written 

notice to each licensee who might be in violation. If the beer is registered within 

10 days of receipt of this notice, no further action will be taken against the 

licensee. If the beer is not registered within 10 days, the MBCO will notify the 

BLCE, which will proceed with the citation process. 

 

10. CASHING CHECKS. It is unlawful for any licensee to cash payroll checks or to cash, 

receive, handle or negotiate in any way Public Assistance, Unemployment Compensation 

or any other relief checks. 

 

11. CHANGE OF OFFICERS OR MANAGER.  

 All licensees except clubs must notify the PLCB of a change in manager, steward, 

officer, director or stockholder (involving 10 percent or more of outstanding 

voting stock) within 15 days of the change.   

 Clubs must notify the PLCB of a change in manager, steward, officer or director 

when applying for license renewal. Clubs may also report a change to the 

manager/steward at the time of validation. Except for nonprofit clubs, if the 

change of officer(s)/stockholders(s) results in a change in control of the 

corporation or club, public notice of such change is required.  



 A manager appointed by a restaurant, eating place retail dispenser, hotel, club, 

limited distillery or distributor licensee must complete the PLCB’s RAMP 

manager/owner training within 180 days of the PLCB’s approval of the 

appointment, unless the manager successfully completed RAMP owner/manager 

training prior to appointment. 

 

12. CLEANING BEER/WINE DISPENSING SYSTEMS. It is unlawful for a licensee to 

fail to clean its malt or brewed beverage dispensing system in accordance with PLCB 

regulations.  Licensees who fail to maintain the appropriate records for such cleaning or 

whose malt or brewed beverage systems are found to be unsanitary are subject to citation 

in the same manner as any other licensee.  

 The method of cleaning must leave the entire malt or brewed beverage dispensing 

system in a clean and sanitary condition.  

 The faucets must be cleaned at least once every seven days.  

 The dispensing lines, valves, joints, couplers, hose fittings, washers, o-rings, 

empty beer detectors (known as “FOBS”) and draft foam control units must be 

cleaned at least once every seven days, unless the licensee has an operating 

ultrasonic, electromagnetic or other system that retards the growth of yeast and 

bacteria in the dispensing lines. If such a system is installed and operating, the 

licensee must follow the cleaning frequency and cleaning method guidelines of 

the system’s manufacturer. 

 

13. CONSUMPTION BY LICENSEES/EMPLOYEES. It is unlawful for licensees and 

their employees, agents and servants to consume alcoholic beverages while tending bar or 

otherwise serving alcoholic beverages. 

 

14. DISCOUNT PRICING PRACTICES – HAPPY HOURS. It is unlawful for licensees 

to engage in discount pricing practices except in accord with the following:  

 Retail licensees may discount the price of alcoholic beverages for a consecutive or 

non-consecutive period not to exceed four hours in any business day and not to 

exceed 14 hours per week.  

 Discount pricing is not permitted between midnight and the end of legal serving 

time.  

 The happy hour schedule must be posted on the licensed premises where it can be 

seen at least seven days before the happy hour period.  

Licensees may not: 

 Sell or serve more than one alcoholic beverage drink at any one time to any one 

person for the price of one drink. 

 Sell or serve an increased volume of one alcoholic beverage drink without a 

corresponding and proportionate increase in the price. 



 Sell or serve unlimited or indefinite amounts of alcoholic beverages for a set 

price. 

 Change the discounted price of drinks within the four-hour period from that 

originally set as the discounted price. 

 

Licensees may also feature one specific type or brand of alcoholic beverage or drink per 

day or a portion of the day at a reduced price, so long as such offering remains in 

compliance with all the above noted restrictions except for the four-hour limitation.  

 

Discount pricing restrictions do not prohibit the sale or service of an unlimited or 

indefinite amount of alcoholic beverages for a fixed price for catered events, such as 

weddings, which have been arranged at least 24 hours in advance, with notice to the 

BLCE. 

 

The holder of a restaurant license that is also approved to hold a slot machine license or a 

conditional slot machine license may give liquor and malt or brewed beverages free of 

charge to any person actively engaged in playing a slot machine or a table game. 

 

15. DISPOSAL OF EMPTY LIQUOR CONTAINERS. It is unlawful for any licensee to 

fail to break empty liquor or wine bottles within 24 hours after their contents have been 

removed (except for decorative decanters), unless the licensee is a participant in a 

recycling program. 

 

16. DISTRIBUTION OF MALT OR BREWED BEVERAGES FROM UNLICENSED 

LOCATIONS. It is unlawful for a distributor or importing distributor to distribute malt 

or brewed beverages from any location other than its licensed premises. Sales may only 

be made at the licensee’s principal office or place of business.  

 In addition, an importing distributor may sell malt or brewed beverages from its 

warehouse location to licensed buyers.  

 Distributors and importing distributors may conduct tastings on their licensed 

premises.  

 

17. EMPLOYMENT FOR IMPROPER PURPOSE. It is unlawful to employ any person 

for the purpose of enticing customers, or to encourage them to drink alcoholic beverages. 

 

18. EMPLOYMENT OF A LICENSEE OR EMPLOYEES.  

 It is unlawful for any restaurant, hotel, club or retail dispenser licensee – or any 

officer, servant, agent or employee of such licensee – to be directly or indirectly 

employed at the same time by any distributor, importing distributor, 

manufacturer, importer or vendor licensee or any out-of-state manufacturer.  

 It is also unlawful for any manufacturer, importer or vendor licensee; any out-of-

state manufacturer; or any officer, servant, agent or employee of any of those 

entities to be directly or indirectly employed at the same time by any hotel, 



restaurant or club liquor licensee; any malt or brewed beverage licensee; or any 

distributor or importing distributor licensee.  

 Further, it is unlawful for any distributor or importing distributor – or any officer, 

servant, agent or employee of such licensee – to be at the same time directly or 

indirectly employed by any other distributor, importing distributor, manufacturer, 

importer, vendor, out-of-state manufacturer, hotel, restaurant, malt or brewed 

beverage licensee or club licensee.  

 However, a manufacturer licensee – or any officer, servant, agent or employee of 

such licensee – may be employed at the same time by a hotel, restaurant or retail 

dispenser licensee, if the hotel, restaurant or retail dispenser licensee is located at 

the manufacturer premises. 

 

19. EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS.  

 It is unlawful for any distributor or importing distributor to employ minors under 

the age of 18.  

 It is unlawful for any hotel, restaurant, club or retail dispenser licensee to employ 

or permit minors under the age of 18 to serve alcoholic beverages, or to employ or 

permit minors under age 16 to render any service whatever in or about the 

licensed premises. Minors between 16 and 18 years of age may be employed to 

serve food, clear tables and perform other such duties on retail licensed premises, 

but they may not dispense or serve alcoholic beverages.  

 Minors 14 and 15 years of age may be employed at ski resorts, golf courses and 

amusement parks, as long as the minors do not perform duties in any rooms or 

areas where alcohol is being dispensed, served or non-securely stored during the 

minors’ service.  

 Continuing care facilities licensed by the PLCB may also employ minors as 

young as 14 years of age for services other than dispensing or serving alcoholic 

beverages.  

 Notwithstanding any provisions of law to the contrary, a hotel, restaurant or club 

liquor licensee or any retail dispenser may allow minor students receiving 

instruction in a performing art to perform an exhibition on the licensed premises, 

if the students are not compensated and are under proper supervision. Written 

notice of the performance must be provided to the BLCE prior to the 

performance. 

 

20. ENTERTAINMENT – PERMITTING. It is unlawful for any licensee – except clubs, 

public venues and performing arts facilities – to permit dancing, theatricals, floor shows 

or motion pictures (other than television of any sort) in any licensed establishment unless 

the licensee has first obtained an Amusement Permit from the PLCB.  

 A licensee may use its Amusement Permit in conjunction with its Extended Hours 

Food Permit and have entertainment at any time its establishment is open.  



 Licensees without an Extended Hours Food Permit that hold an Amusement 

Permit may permit entertainment only during the hours when the sale of alcoholic 

beverages is permitted and between 11 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on the 

following Monday, regardless of whether the licensee holds a Sunday Sales 

Permit. 

 

21. FALSIFICATION OF APPLICATION FORMS/DOCUMENTS. It is unlawful for 

any licensee to willfully and/or knowingly provide false information on any application 

or document to any government agency. 

 

22. GENERAL PROHIBITION. A licensee may be cited under the provisions of the 

Liquor Code for any unlawful activity prohibited by any federal or state law that occurs 

on the licensed premises or involves the licensee, its servants, agents or employees.  Such 

unlawful activity also citable for violation of the Liquor Code includes, for example, 

prostitution, illegal drug activities, unlawful gambling, etc.  

 

23. HAWKING AND PEDDLING. It is unlawful to hawk or peddle any liquor or malt or 

brewed beverages, which generally means orally promoting for sale or selling liquor or 

malt or brewed beverages off a licensed premises, including from vehicles, is prohibited. 

 

24. ILLEGAL GAMBLING. It is unlawful for a licensee to maintain gambling devices or 

permit illegal gambling on the licensed premises. Authorized Pennsylvania Lottery 

transactions are permitted, as are properly sanctioned bingo games or small games of 

chance as permitted by law. The holder of a slot machine license is permitted to operate 

slot machines and table games on the licensed premises. 

 

25. INDUCEMENTS – GIFTS. It is unlawful for any licensee to give or permit to be given, 

directly or indirectly, money or anything of substantial value in an effort to: 

 Induce employees, agents or representatives of customers or prospective 

customers to influence their employer or principal to purchase or contract to 

purchase liquor or malt or brewed beverages from the donor of such gift; or  

 Influence such employers or principals to refrain from dealing or contracting to 

deal with other licensees. 

 

26. INDUCEMENTS – THINGS OF VALUE, ALLOWANCES OR REBATES.  

 It is unlawful for any licensee to offer, give, solicit or receive anything of value or 

any allowance or rebate as a direct inducement to purchase liquor or malt or 

brewed beverages, except for advertising novelties of an individual wholesale 

value of $15 or less.  

 Manufacturers’ coupons offering monetary rebates on the retail purchase of wines 

and spirits may be redeemed at Fine Wine & Good Spirits stores at the time of 

purchase, or by the manufacturer or its agent with proof of purchase.  

 Manufacturers’ coupons offering monetary rebates on the retail purchase of malt 

or brewed beverages from a distributor or importing distributor may be redeemed 



by the manufacturer or its agent with proof of purchase. 

 

27. INSPECTION OF LICENSED PREMISES. It is unlawful to refuse any authorized 

employee of the PLCB or the BLCE the right to completely inspect the licensed premises 

at any time the premises are open for the transaction of business, or when patrons, guests 

or members are in the portion of the licensed premises wherein alcoholic beverages are 

sold. 

 

28. CONNECTION WITH ANOTHER BUSINESS. There may be no inside passage or 

communication between a licensed premises and any other business except as approved 

by the PLCB.  

 The PLCB may not approve an inside passage or communication exceeding 10 

feet in width. However, licensees with previously approved interior connections 

greater than 10 feet wide are exempt from this requirement.  

 There may be an interior connection to a residence of the licensee, corporate 

officer or manager only. No other person may conduct another business on the 

licensed area(s).  

 If the premises are, in whole or in part, licensed by the Pennsylvania Gaming 

Control Board, a licensee may allow the holder of a slot machine license to 

operate on its licensed premises. 

 

29. LICENSEE SELLING EQUIPMENT. It is unlawful for any licensee – or any officer, 

director, stockholder, servant, agent or employee of any licensee – to directly or 

indirectly own any interest in or be employed or engaged in any business that involves 

the manufacture or sale of any equipment, furnishing or fixtures to any hotel, restaurant, 

club, retail dispenser, importing distributor or distributor licensee.  The only exception to 

this prohibition is that that licensees may sell glasses (at not less than cost), metal keg 

connectors and tap knobs to other licensees and to holders of special occasion permits. 

 

30. LIGHTING CONDITIONS. It is unlawful for restaurant, hotel, club and retail 

dispenser licensees to fail to maintain sufficient interior lighting that ensures clear 

visibility and permits patrons to easily read a menu or newsprint within the licensed 

premises. 

 

31. LOUDSPEAKERS. It is unlawful to use or permit the use of any loudspeaker or similar 

device inside or outside the licensed premises that allows the sound of music or 

entertainment or the advertisement thereof to be heard beyond the licensee’s property 

line. Municipalities may file an application with the PLCB requesting exemption from 

this statutory requirement and application of a local ordinance instead. Certain licensees 

previously exempted from the PLCB’s noise regulation may also be exempted from the 

noise statute. 

 

32. MINORS FREQUENTING LICENSED PREMISES.  Generally, minors under 21 

years of age may not be present in an establishment licensed to sell alcoholic beverages.  

There are, however, exceptions to the general rule: 



 Minors employed by licensees and minors accompanied by parents or guardians 

are permitted on the premises. 

 Minors attending a social gathering that is marketed or catered to minors are 

permitted on the licensed premises.  Advance notice of the event must be 

provided to the BLCE, no alcohol can be served to anyone at the social gathering 

(even adults) and alcohol must be removed from or secured at the licensed 

premises during the event. 

 Minors under proper supervision (by someone at least 25 years old who is 

directly responsible for the care and conduct of the minor while on the premises 

and who keeps the minor within his or her sight or hearing) are permitted on the 

premises. In Philadelphia, each proper supervisor can supervise up to five 

minors; in the rest of the commonwealth, each proper supervisor can supervise up 

to 20 minors. If minors are on the premises as part of a school-endorsed function, 

however, then each supervisor can supervise 50 minors. 

 Minors not accompanied by a parent/guardian or under proper supervision may 

be permitted on restaurant or retail dispenser eating place licensed premises if the 

licensed establishment has combined food and non-alcoholic beverage sales 

equal to 50 percent or more of the combined gross sales of food and alcoholic 

beverages.  In such cases, alcoholic beverages may not be served at the table or 

booth where minors are seated, except when the minors are accompanied by a 

parent or legal guardian or are under proper supervision.  Additionally, only table 

service of alcoholic beverages or take-out service of beer is permitted in the room 

where the minors are located.  

 

33. PYROTECHNICS. It is unlawful to store, handle, use or display any pyrotechnics 

within a building on the licensed premises unless the display is performed by a federally 

licensed operator and was approved by a municipal fire official. 

 

34. OFF-PREMISES CONSUMPTION. It is unlawful for any restaurant, hotel or club 

licensee to sell any liquor or wine for consumption off the premises where sold.  

 However, it is permissible for licensees other than clubs to sell malt or brewed 

beverages for off-premises consumption in quantities not exceeding 192 fluid 

ounces (two six-packs) in a single sale to one person.  

 It is also permissible for patrons of restaurant or hotel liquor licensees who have 

purchased but only partially consumed a bottle of wine on the premises to take the 

unconsumed portion of the bottle with them when they leave, as long as the bottle 

was purchased in conjunction with a meal consumed on the premises and the 

bottle is resealed (recorked). The meal must have been food prepared on the 

premises sufficient to constitute breakfast, lunch or dinner; snacks such as 

pretzels, popcorn, chips or similar food do not qualify as a meal.  

 Restaurant, hotel and eating place retail dispenser licensees located in a hotel, golf 

course or bowling center may permit persons to carry alcoholic beverages from 

the licensed area of the premises to the unlicensed areas of the premises as long as 



the alcoholic beverages remain on the hotel, golf course or bowling center 

property.  

 Restaurant, club and eating place retail dispenser licensees located on a golf 

course may also sell alcoholic beverages or malt or brewed beverages on the 

unlicensed portion of a golf course as long as the alcohol remains on the golf 

course. 

 

35. OFF-PREMISES CATERED FUNCTION. Hotel, restaurant, eating place retail 

dispenser and brewery pub licensees may obtain an Off-Premises Catering Permit, which 

allows such licensees to hold a catered function off the licensed premises and on 

otherwise unlicensed premises. A catered function includes the furnishing of food – 

prepared on the premises or brought onto the premises already prepared – in conjunction 

with alcohol beverages, for the accommodation of a person or an identifiable group of 

people (not the general public) who made arrangements for the function at least 30 days 

in advance. 

 At a catered function, the licensee holding an Off-Premises Catering Permit may 

sell liquor or malt or brewed beverages by the glass, open bottle or other 

container, together with food, for consumption on the catered premises.  

 A brewery pub may sell only the malt or brewed beverages produced by the 

brewery with which it is affiliated, as well as wine produced by licensed limited 

wineries, at catered functions.  

 An eating place retail dispenser licensee may sell only malt or brewed beverages. 

 No sales for take-out are permitted.  

 Any licensee holding an Off-Premises Catering Permit may transport the alcohol 

to and from its licensed premises to the site of the catered function. 

 The following additional restrictions apply to off-premises catered functions: 

- Alcoholic beverages may only be provided during the hours the licensee 

can normally sell such beverages. 

- All servers at the catered site must be RAMP-certified. 

- A catered function cannot last longer than five hours, must end by 

midnight, and no more than 50 such events may be held by a particular 

licensee in a calendar year. 

- A catered function cannot be held on already-licensed premises. 

- No permit can be issued to a location that is subject to a pending license 

renewal objection by the PLCB Bureau of Licensing, a pending license 

suspension, or the one-year prohibition on the issuance or transfer of a 

license due to a citation action. 

- No permit may be used in a mobile location (food truck or other vehicle) 

or on any location used for parking at a sports or concert event. 

- The BLCE may conduct a warrantless search of private property on which 

a catered event is held. 



- A catered function is subject to the noise statute, which prohibits the use 

of a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or other 

entertainment is heard beyond the property line. 

- Written notice of the catered function must be provided to the local police 

and to the BLCE at least seven days in advance.   Written notice of the 

catered function must be provided to the PLCB at least 30 days in 

advance, unless the notification requirement is waived by the PLCB. The 

notice must include the location, time and host of the function and general 

information regarding expected guests. 

- Licensees who want to obtain a permit must notify the PLCB and pay the 

permit fee by March 1 of each calendar year. 

 

36. PECUNIARY INTEREST. It is unlawful for any person or persons, other than those 

approved by the PLCB, to have any pecuniary interest in a licensed business. Generally, 

pecuniary interest is presumed to exist when a person receives 10 percent or more of the 

proceeds of the licensed business, or when control is exercised by one or more of the 

following: 

 Employing a majority of the employees of the licensee. 

 Independently making day-to-day decisions about the operation of the 

business. 

 Having final authority to decide how the licensed business is conducted. 

 

37. POSSESSION OF LIQUOR OR ALCOHOL ON PREMISES LICENSED ONLY 

FOR SALE OF MALT/BREWED BEVERAGES. It is unlawful for any distributor, 

importing distributor or retail dispenser licensee – or their servants, agents or employees 

– to possess or to permit the storage of any liquor or alcohol on the licensed premises or 

any place contiguous or adjacent thereto that is accessible to the public or used in the 

operation of the licensed business. 

 

38. POSSESSION OF LIQUOR UNLAWFULLY ACQUIRED. It is unlawful to possess 

any liquor that has not been lawfully imported or purchased from the PLCB, a 

sacramental wine dealer, a licensed or limited distillery or a licensed limited winery. 

 

39. PREMISES TO BE VACATED BY PATRONS. It is unlawful to permit patrons to 

remain on retail licensed premises later than one-half hour after legal beverage servicing 

time has expired (2 a.m. for all licensees except for clubs, which must stop sales by 3 

a.m.). Legal closing times by which a premises must be vacated by patrons are 2:30 a.m. 

for all licensees except clubs, which may remain open until 3:30 a.m. Patrons are 

prohibited from possessing or removing from the licensed premises any alcoholic 

beverages after legal closing time.  

 Hotel, retail dispenser and restaurant licensees who possess or who are eligible to 

possess a Sunday Sales Permit and who wish to remain open for food service after 

legal closing times must obtain an Extended Hours Food Permit from the PLCB.  

 Clubs may also apply for a limited Extended Hours Food Permit.  



 All restaurant, hotel and eating place retail dispensers may be open from 7 a.m. on 

Sundays until 2 a.m. on Mondays to sell food and non-alcoholic beverages, 

regardless of whether they have a Sunday Sales Permit. 

 

40. PURCHASE OF LIQUOR. It is generally unlawful for anyone in Pennsylvania to 

purchase alcohol or liquor from a source other than the PLCB, a sacramental wine dealer, 

a licensed or limited distillery or licensed limited winery, although limited exceptions 

apply. 

 

41. SALES/PURCHASES ON CREDIT. It is unlawful for any licensee to sell or purchase 

liquor or malt or brewed beverages on credit, except in cases where: 

 Credit is extended by a hotel or club licensee to a bona fide guest or member; or 

 Licensees and distributors accept credit cards issued by banking institutions as 

acceptable forms of payment. 

 

42. SALES FOR CASH. It is unlawful for a holder of a distributor or importing distributor 

license to accept cash for payment of malt or brewed beverages by anyone licensed by 

the PLCB.  

 Money orders and cashier’s checks are permitted.  

 Prepayment in cash is permitted, so long as it is done at the distributors’ or 

importing distributors’ premises prior to delivery.  

 Prepayment in cash to employees of distributors and importing distributors while 

they are off the licensed premises is unlawful. 

 

43. RECORDS ON LICENSED PREMISES. It is unlawful to fail to keep on the licensed 

premises complete and truthful records covering the operation of the licensed business.  It 

is also unlawful to refuse authorized employees of the PLCB or the BLCE access to such 

records and/or copies during business hours.  

 A licensee is required to maintain on its licensed premises business records for the 

most recent six months, it may only remove those records from the licensed 

premises for a lawful business purpose, and it must return the records after such 

business has been concluded.  

 A licensee may maintain records off the licensed premises that are between six 

months and two years old, provided that such records are returned to the licensed 

premises within 24 hours of a request by the PLCB or the BLCE. 

 

44. REFILLING LIQUOR BOTTLES. It is unlawful to refill any liquor bottle or other 

liquor container, wholly or in part, with any liquid or substance whatsoever. 

 

45. SALE/SERVICE/FURNISHING – HOURS LIMITED. It is unlawful to sell, give, 

furnish, trade, barter, serve or deliver any alcoholic beverages to any person except 

during the hours and days prescribed in the Liquor Code.  



 Generally for on-premises licenses (except clubs), these hours are as follows: 7 

a.m. to 2 a.m. of the next day; Sunday sales between 11 a.m. and 2 a.m. of the 

following Monday (authorized only for holders of Sunday Sales Permits) 

 Club hours are as follows: 7 a.m. to 3 a.m. of next day all week, including 

Sunday.  

 All restaurant, hotel and eating place retail dispenser licensees can open on 

Sunday from 7 a.m. until 2 a.m. on Mondays to sell food and non-alcoholic 

beverages, regardless of whether or not they have a Sunday Sales Permit.  

 The holder of a hotel, restaurant, municipal golf course restaurant, privately-

owned public golf course restaurant, eating place retail dispenser or municipal 

golf course retail dispenser license that also holds a Sunday Sales Permit may sell 

alcohol on Sundays between 9 a.m. and 11 a.m., provided that the licensee offers 

a meal beginning at 9 a.m. Otherwise, such licensees holding a Sunday Sales 

Permit may not begin selling alcohol until 11 a.m. on Sunday. The meal must be 

food prepared on the premises sufficient to constitute breakfast, lunch or dinner; 

snacks such as pretzels, popcorn, chips or similar food do not qualify as a meal.  

 Notwithstanding the above, the holder of an Airport Restaurant Liquor license 

that acquires a Sunday Sales Permit may begin Sunday sales of alcohol at 7 a.m. 

 

46. SALES TO NON-MEMBERS (CLUBS). It is unlawful for any club licensee to sell 

alcoholic beverages to persons who are not bona fide members, except that holders of 

catering club licenses may conduct sales to non-members in the course of catered 

functions arranged at least 24 hours in advance. 

 

47. SALES VIA THE INTERNET. Generally, wine cannot be shipped to a Pennsylvania 

resident from out-of-state or in-state unless the seller holds a Limited Winery License 

issued by the PLCB. However, licensed direct shippers are allowed to sell via the Internet 

and send up to nine liters per month to consumers in Pennsylvania. Such alcohol may not 

be resold. The wine must be for personal use only and cannot be something already 

available for sale from the PLCB. The wine is shipped to a Fine Wine & Good Spirits 

store selected by the customer, who must then pick it up by showing identification and 

paying a fee and all state taxes. PLCB licensees cannot order products by this method. 

 

48. SALES WITHOUT A LICENSE. It is unlawful to sell any liquor and/or malt or brewed 

beverages unless such person holds a valid license or permit issued by the PLCB 

permitting such sales. 

 

49. SERVICE OR SALES TO MINORS, AND VISIBLY INTOXICATED PERSONS. 

It is unlawful to sell, furnish or give liquor or malt or brewed beverages – or to permit the 

sale, furnishing or giving of any liquor or malt or brewed beverages – to minors or visibly 

intoxicated persons. The Pennsylvania Crimes Code also makes it unlawful to sell or 

furnish any beverage intended to be sold as non-alcoholic beer, wine or liquor to any 

person less than 21 years of age. 

 



50. TOURNAMENTS, CONTESTS, EVENTS, PRIZES. Only the following events, 

tournaments and contests are permitted by PLCB regulation to take place on licensed 

premises: 

 Boxing and wrestling events sanctioned by the Pennsylvania State Athletic 

Commission 

 Bowling tournaments 

 League competitions 

 Tournaments and contests officially sponsored by and for the benefit of properly 

registered and qualified charitable organizations 

 Self-sponsored tournaments, events and contests. 

 

The total value of all prizes for any given event, tournament or contest may not exceed 

$1,000. The total value of all prizes awarded in any seven-day period may not exceed 

$25,000. 

 

All other events, tournaments, contests and prize awards are prohibited on licensed 

premises of hotel, restaurant, club and retailer dispenser eating place licensees. 

 

WORTHLESS CHECKS. It is unlawful for any retail liquor licensee, retail dispenser, 

distributor or importing distributor to offer payment for malt or brewed beverage purchases with 

insufficient funds or credit to cover the full amount of payment due. 

 A licensee that receives insufficient payment or a worthless check from another licensee 

for purchase of malt or brewed beverages must notify the licensee that issued the 

payment and the PLCB’s Malt Beverage Compliance Officer (MBCO) of the bad 

payment by certified mail within five days of receipt of notice of such dishonor.  

 The MBCO will provide the offending licensee written notice that it has 10 days to honor 

in full the payment it issued. If the licensee fails to provide full payment within 10 days 

of the mailing date of the notice, the MBCO will turn the matter over to the BLCE.  

 

 

For answers to legal inquiries, contact the PLCB Office of Chief Counsel: 

401 Northwest Office Building 

Harrisburg, PA 17124-0001 

717.783.9454 

Fax: 717.787.8820 

ra-lblegal@pa.gov 


