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ADVISORY NOTICE NO. 5 
 
REGULATION AMENDMENT 
JULY 11, 1990 
 
TO: Licensed Sacramental Wine Dealers  
 
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board Regulations (Title 40, PA Code, Section 11.84) related to 
record keeping and reporting requirements for Sacramental Wine Licensees have been 
amended effective June 23, 1990. The regulations have been changed to clarify and update on-
premises record keeping requirements and to eliminate monthly reporting requirements to the 
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board.  
 
The major changes affecting operations by Sacramental Wine Licensees are as follows:  
 

1. A regulatory provision has been added to provide that electronic record keeping may be 
utilized as an alternative to hard copy records so long as any such electronic record 
keeping system covers in detail all transactions as required by Section 11.84 of the 
regulations.  

 
2. The regulatory requirement for submission of monthly reports of operations to the 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board has been rescinded. Therefore, licensees should 
discontinue transmission of these reports to the Board.  

 
A copy of the pertinent section of the regulations, including these changes, is enclosed. As 
these revised regulations are now in effect, licensees are advised to administer their operations 
accordingly.  
 
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
JOHN D.W. REILEY 
Secretary to the Board  
 
 
  



 
 

 

 

TITLE 40, PA CODE 
CHAPTER 11. PURCHASES AND SALES 

Sec. 11.84. Records.  
(a) The holder of a Sacramental Wine License shall maintain and keep on the licensed 

premises, under section 409 of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. § 4-409), in hard copy or 
electronic media consistent with generally accepted accounting procedures, complete 
and accurate daily records containing the following: 

 
(1) The date of purchase. 

 
(2) The name and address of the person from whom purchased.  

 
(3) The date of sale.  

 
(4) The name and address of the priest, clergyman or rabbi to whom sold.  

 
(5) The type, quantity and price of wine sold.  

 
(6) The name and address of members to whom wine is delivered directly, and the 

quantity.  
 

(b) A copy of all sales records shall be retained in the records of the licensee on the 
licensed premises for 2 years.  

 
(c) All stock of wine on hand shall be reconciled with the records by means of a physical 

inventory taken at the close of business each month, at which time proper claim shall be 
made for any unusual losses of wine through theft, evaporation, absorption or other 
conditions. No retroactive claims for losses will be allowed.  

 
(d) The records maintained by licensees under this section shall be open to inspection by 

authorized representatives of the Board and the State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control 
Enforcement, under sections 211 and 493(21) of the Liquor Code (47 P.S. §§ 2-211 and 
4-493(21)). A recordkeeping system utilized by the licensee shall have the capability to 
provide for the reconciling of required data. Entries shall be verifiable by supporting 
documentation—original documents. Records shall be clearly identifiable to the licensed 
operation.  

 
(e) Federal and State government reports and forms. Copies of reports or forms required by 

Federal or State governmental agencies related to the licensed operation shall be 
maintained for a period of 2 years unless required to be maintained for a longer period 
by the Federal or State agencies. The reports or forms shall also be open to inspection 
by authorized representatives of the Board and the State Police, Bureau of Liquor 
Control Enforcement, and shall constitute a satisfactory record if they contain the 
information required in subsections (a)—(c). 


